Florida’s no-fault law requires all drivers in the state to purchase a minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP) as part of their own automobile insurance. PIP insurance is used to cover the injuries of the driver and passengers of the covered vehicle. The minimum amount of PIP insurance coverage required for Florida drivers is $10,000. All Florida drivers must file claims with their own insurance companies regardless of fault after any accident.
Being a no-fault state has its benefits. Florida drivers and passengers who are injured in automobile accidents are able to receive immediate compensation because, unlike injured parties in at-fault states, they do not have to wait for the insurance companies to sort out who is at-fault for the accident before claims are paid. PIP insurance will pay for medical treatment, lost wages, and any expenses incurred because of the accident, such as additional childcare if the driver has become unable to care for his or her children. PIP insurance covers these same expenses for passengers who are injured in the accident.
No-fault laws also have drawbacks for Florida drivers. PIP insurance will not pay for pain and suffering and other types of non-economic damages. These may be recovered in a lawsuit against other drivers at fault, but such a lawsuit cannot be brought unless certain conditions are met. The injuries must be serious enough that they constitute significant permanent loss of a bodily function, permanent injury, permanent scarring or disfigurement or death. It is best to consult with a knowledgeable car accident attorney about the specifics of your case to see if these types of damages are available in your case.
If you or someone you know have been seriously injured in an accident, the experienced attorneys at Largey Law Firm are here to help. We have been fighting for the rights of car accident clients for over 27 years. To schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced lawyer, contact us online. We have offices in Tavares, Clermont and Inverness.