Even careful drivers can exercise poor judgment about whether they’ve consumed too much alcohol to drive safely. In Clermont, a city of almost 37,000 that entertains a large volume of tourism, mistakes are bound to be made, leading to DUI arrests. Whether you are a resident or a visitor, if you are charged with driving under the influence, you need effective legal counsel. The attorneys at Largey Law have the experience, skill and determination to provide an effective defense. We will work tirelessly to minimize the charges as well as the penalties and consequences that can result.
The Basics of DUI Charges
A charge of driving under the influence can be based on impairment due to alcohol or drugs. Evidence of blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is enough for a misdemeanor DUI conviction, though the legal threshold is 0.04 for commercial drivers and 0.02 for drivers under the age of 21.
The penalties for a DUI in Florida may be enhanced if there were aggravating factors, such as:
- BAC of 0.15 percent or greater
- Presence of a minor in the vehicle
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Reckless driving or excessive speed
- Repeated DUI offenses
- Causing bodily harm to another person
Even if a driver’s BAC is low, authorities can charge DUI if their driving was obviously impaired or if they are under the influence of illicit drugs, such as marijuana, or one or more prescription drugs.
Whatever the level of the charges or the type of evidence against you, our dedicated attorneys in Clermont are ready to offer a vigorous defense.
What Are the Penalties Associated with a Conviction?
Conviction of DUI in Florida can be punished by fines, jail time and loss of driving privileges. The penalties increase for repeat offenders according to the following:
- First conviction — Incarceration for six to nine months, fines of $500 to $2,000 driver’s license revocation of 180 days to one year.
- Second conviction — Incarceration for nine months to one year, fines of $1000 to $4,000 and a driver’s license revocation of five years.
- Third conviction — This is a felony if the last conviction was within 10 years of the arrest for the second conviction. It carries a maximum prison term of five years, a fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000 and revocation of the driver’s license for 10 years.
In addition, convicted offenders may be required to complete alcohol education school, undergo abuse assessment and treatment programs and install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles.
State law vests wide discretion in the sentencing judge, who can consider multiple factors in weighing the range of penalties to impose. Retaining a highly skilled and experienced lawyer in Clermont can greatly improve your chances of receiving the minimum DUI sentence possible.
Challenging Evidence of a DUI
Our firm is committed to providing a vigorous defense that contests every element of the state’s case using procedural and substantive defenses. Among other things, we focus the court’s scrutiny on:
- Lack of probable cause for the initial traffic stop
- Failure to properly advise drivers of their constitutional rights
- Inaccuracy of field sobriety tests
- Flawed timing and/or administration of breath, blood or chemical tests
- Errors in custody and preservation of evidence
Making these challenges effectively and raising all weaknesses in the state’s case requires knowledge and experience, which our Clermont team has acquired through decades of practice with DUI cases.
Meet With a Clermont DUI Attorney for Best Results
If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence, you should not hesitate to work with one of our seasoned team members. You can reach a reliable DUI defense lawyer at 352.508.1485 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. Se habla español.